California Germany Bilateral Energy Conference 2017

Event Highlights Termin speichern
19.10.2017 | 12:30
20.10.2017 - 13:30
California Department of Public Health | Sacramento

‘This conference will highlight key policy drivers for California and Germany and will indicate what can be accomplished when international entities come together with common goals.’ Robert B. Weisenmiller (Chair of the California Energy Commission)

The ambition of this year’s California-Germany Bilateral Energy Conference was to bring industry experts, think tanks, and policy makers from Germany and California together to discuss recent developments, deepen the understanding of long term trends and exchange experiences with policies designed to tackle them. Furthermore, the conference fostered dialogue, strengthen networks, and increased the motivation and inspiration of key stakeholders who have a leading role in the energy transition of their respective countries and regions. All of the speakers, partners and participants created an innovative and productive event which stands for the great collaboration between California and Germany in case of energy solutions and development. We are more than happy to reinforce and extend this strong connection in the future.



Welcome and Opening Remarks | California and Germany as Forerunners in the Global Energy Transition
Robert B. Weisenmiller, Martin Schöpe


Presentation and Q&A | Long-Term Planning for the Power Sector
Amory Lovins, Katharina Grave


The Energy Transition Here and There | Visionary Voices
Stephen Berberich, Hal Harvey, Peter Hoffmann, Felix Matthes, Simon Müeller, Professor Mario Ragwitz, Nancy Sutley
Moderator: Antonella Battaglini


Voice from Asia | China’s 2050 Vision
Professor Wang Zhongying



Welcome Back Remarks
Janea A. Scott, Martin Schöpe


Panel 1 | Vision Meets Reality: Integrating Renewable Power into the Transportation Sector and the Heating Sector
Hanno Butsch, Christoph Jugel, Ronald O. Nichols, Niklas Schirmer, Dietrich Schmidt, Daniel Witt
Moderator: Professor Daniel Sperling


Panel 2 | Vision Meets Reality: Consumers, Demand and the Network
Jan Aengenvoort, Jesse Bryson, Jay Dickenson, René Mono
Moderator: Andrew McAllister


Closing Remarks
Robert B. Weisenmiller,, Martin Schöpe

You can find all presentations here.



Amory Lovins
CEO, Rocky Mountain Institute


Andrew McAllister
Commissioner, California Energy Commission


Antonella Battaglini
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Renewables Grid Initiative (RGI)

Chrisoph Jugel
Director of Energy Systems
Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena)

Daniel Sperling
Director, Institute of Transportation Studies
University of California, Davis (ITS-Davis)

Daniel Witt
Senior Manager, Business Development and Policy

Dietrich Schmidt
Head of Power-Heat-Systems Department
Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology

Drew Bohan
Executive Director
California Energy Commission


Felix Matthes
Research Coordinator, Energy and Climate Policy


Hal Harvey
Energy Innovation


Hanno Butsch
Head of International Cooperation
(German) National Organisation Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology

Jan Aengenvoort
Head of Communications & Market Research
Next Kraftwerke

Janea A. Scott
California Energy Commission

Jay Dickenson
Chief Consultant, California Senate Energy
Utilities and Communications Committee

Jesse Bryson
Vice President and Head of Global Market Development
Advanced Microgrid Solutions

Katharina Grave
Principle Issues of Electricity Unit
German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi)


Martin Schöpe
Head of Division, International Cooperation on Energy
German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi)


Mario Ragwitz
Professor, Deputy Head of Competence Center Energy Policy and Energy Markets
Frauenhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI


Nancy Sutley
Chief Sustainability Officer
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power

Niklas Schirmer
Head of Energy

Peter Hoffmann
Senior Manager System Operations

René Mono
Managing Director
100% Renewable Foundation

Robert B. Weisenmiller
California Energy Commission

Ronald O. Nichols
Southern Callifornia Edison


Simon Müller
Head of Unit Systems Integration of Renewables
International Energy Agency


Stephen Berberich
President and Chief Executive Officer
California Independent System Operator


Wang Zhongying
Professor and Director
China National Renewable Energy Centre